KTN Sector Advisory Boards

Posted on: 13/07/2016

An overview of the KTN Sector Advisory Boards, their aims and objectives, and constitution.

The Knowledge Transfer Network’s activities are informed by Sector Advisory Boards – each bringing specialist knowledge and experience to help set future priorities and direct activities. Significantly, the Sector Groups provide a coherent industry voice to inform KTN, Innovate UK and others of the major technology and innovation needs and opportunities in their sector.

The main role of an advisory board is to ensure that the activities of KTN are of direct relevance to the sector, and provide direct input into Innovate UK by helping to:

  • Assess industry needs and strengths
  • Identifying areas of opportunity for, and barriers to, innovation
  • Develop appropriate and timely funding calls

The boards are intended to be industry led but also provide good representation across the relevant sector. They are usually chaired by an industry member and populated with representatives from:

  • industrial organisations reflecting the breadth and supply chain of a sector
  • intermediate and end user organisations
  • academic and research organisations

Plus a representative from Innovate UK and representatives from research sponsors and Government Departments.


Plant Sector Advisory Board Members

Dr Martin Clough, Head of Product Biology & Project Management, Syngenta


Industry members

Prof Chris Tapsell Global Wheat Breeding Lead, KWS-UK
Guy Gagen, Chief Arable Adviser, NFU
Sue Kennedy, Head of Vegetable Plant Breeding, Elsom Seeds
Paul Billings, Managing Director, Germinal GB
Keith Norman, Technical Director, Velcourt
Ed Moorhouse, Group Technical Director, G’s Fresh
Mark Hemmant, Technical Manager, Agrovista UK
Guy Thallon, Head of Research, Development and Innovation Produce World Group
Rick Mumford, Director, of Science Fera


Academic & research organisation members

Prof. Robert Edwards, Head of School of Agriculture, Food & Rural Development Newcastle University
Prof. Athole Marshall, Principal Investigator, IBERS
Dr Tina Barsby/ Dr Effie Mutasa-Gottgens Director and CEO/ Agri-Gate Hub Project Co-ordinator NIAB
Prof. Ian Dodd, Professor of Sustainable Agriculture, University of Lancaster
Dr Glenn Bryan Leader, of Potato Genetics & Breeding Group, The James Hutton Institute


Intermediate organisation members

Dr Belinda Clarke Director of Agri-Tech East Agri-Tech East
Dr Susannah Bolton Head of Research and Knowledge Transfer AHDB – Cereals and Oilseeds
Steve Tones Strategy Director Horticulture, AHDB
Acting Executive, Horticulture Innovation Partnership (HIP) Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board (AHDB)
David Gardner, CEO, RASE



Calum Murray, Programme Leader -Sustainable Agriculture & Food, Innovate UK
James Phillips, Senior Business Interaction Manager, BBSRC
Simon Bright, CIRC Coordinator, CIRC/KTN


Connect with Innovate UK Business Connect

Join Innovate UK Business Connect's mailing list to receive updates on funding opportunities, events and to access Innovate UK Business Connect's deep expertise. Please check your email to confirm your subscription and select your area(s) of interest.