UK & South Korea Joint Research and Development Funding Competition

Posted on: 26/03/2019

Innovate UK & Korea Institute for the Advancement of Technology announce £2m funding call for R&D projects under EUREKA programme.

A joint funding competition between the UK and South Korea has been opened for R&D projects under the EUREKA programme. UK businesses can apply for a share of up to £1 million. Innovate UK and the Korea Institute for the Advancement of Technology (KIAT) have announced a £2 million joint funding call for research and development (R&D) projects under the EUREKA programme.

Proposals should focus on the following areas of technology: (i) advanced materials for transport (air, land and maritime), with a focus on materials development; (ii) Internet of Things (IoT), with a clearly-identified industrial or sector application, for instance using emerging technologies such as artificial intelligence or blockchain.

Projects must be coordinated by a lead partner from the UK and a lead partner from South Korea, with eligible costs between £100,000 and £1 million. The total grant available to UK applicants is up to £350,000. To lead an application as a UK organisation you have to be a UK based business of any size, collaborating with the South Korean lead and collaborating with at least one UK-based micro, small or medium-sized enterprise. Research organisations, public sector organisations and charities can be partners on the project but cannot lead. Organisations from other EUREKA member states can participate provided they arrange their own funding.

An online briefing event will be held on 8th April. You can register to join this here.

Registration closes: 5th June 2019 at 12:00pm

Competition Closes: 12th June 2019 at 12:00pm

For more information on this funding competition please click here.

Register and apply online here.



EUREKA is an intergovernmental network launched in 1985. Its aim is to support market-oriented R&D and innovation projects by industry, research centres and universities across all technological sectors. It is composed of 41 member states, including the European Union, represented by the European Commission, and the 3 associated states of Canada, South Africa and Chile. There is also a partner country in South Korea. With its flexible and decentralised network, EUREKA offers project partners rapid access to skills and expertise across Europe and national public and private funding schemes.

Read more

Share this article


Connect with Innovate UK Business Connect

Join Innovate UK Business Connect's mailing list to receive updates on funding opportunities, events and to access Innovate UK Business Connect's deep expertise. Please check your email to confirm your subscription and select your area(s) of interest.