The Jet Zero Council Zero Emission Flight Delivery Group meets for the first time

Posted on: 19/07/2022

The Jet Zero Council Zero Emission Flight (ZEF) Delivery Group met for the first time on Friday 15th July 2022, chaired by Rachel Gardner-Poole (COO, Connected Places Catapult).

The membership consists of industry representation from across the aviation and aerospace sectors in addition to government representatives from the Department for Transport and the Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy. Alongside the Sustainable Aviation Fuels Delivery Group, the ZEF Working Group aims to enact the Jet Zero Council objectives of providing advice on the government’s ambitions for clean aviation.

The ZEF Delivery Group’s main priorities will be delivered through 3 subgroups focusing on: Aircraft, chaired by Gary Elliott (CEO, ATI), Infrastructure chaired by Dave Lees (CEO, Bristol Airport) and Regulation, chaired by Tim Johnson (Policy Director, CAA).

The group proactively debated the current proposed Terms of Reference to ensure there is clarity on the aims and scope of the ZEF Delivery Group. These Terms of Reference will be updated and published in due course. The short term and long term priorities for the group were also discussed and it was agreed that a single road map and delivery plan for the ZEF Delivery Group would be developed before the end of the year.

Government and Industry members are confident that the ZEF Delivery Group will lead the work to align planning and create common views on zero emissions flights. In turn, this will allow more coordinated investment on technology and infrastructure to prepare the UK for the future of sustainable flight.

The ZEF Delivery Group will meet on a quarterly basis. If you would like to become an affiliate member and receive regular updates on progress, please contact Jet Zero Council Zero Emission Flight (ZEF) Delivery Group.

Members of the ZEF Delivery Group meeting in person
Members of the ZEF Delivery Group meeting in person
Members of the ZEF Delivery Group meeting online
Members of the ZEF Delivery Group meeting online

Membership list

Chair: Rachel Gardner-Poole
Aircraft Subgroup Chair: Gary Elliott
Regulation Subgroup Chair: Tim Johnson
Infrastructure Subgroup Chair: Dave Lees

Other members:

Royal Air Force (RAF): Air Vice-Marshal Paul Lloyd
Vertical Aerospace: Andrew McMillan
Loganair: Andy Smith
British Airways: Carrie Harris
Airbus: Claire Smith
easyJet: David Morgan
Air Charter Association (ACA): Glenn Hogben
Rolls-Royce: Grazia Vittadini
Virgin Atlantic: Holly Boyd-Boland
Department for Transport (DfT) / Government official representative: Holly Greig
Cranfield University and UK Aerospace Research Consortium (UKARC): Iain Gray
ZeroAvia: James McMicking
British Aviation Group (BAG): Jason Fowler
ADS Group Ltd (UK trade organisation representing the aerospace, defence, security and space sectors): John Copley
Manufacturing Technology Centre (part of High Value Manufacturing Catapult): Katy Milne
Heathrow Airport: Matt Gorman
Sustainable Aviation: Matt Gorman (also representing Heathrow Airport)
GKN Aerospace: Max Brown
Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) / Government official representative: Paul Griffiths
Airlines UK: Tim Alderslade

Share this article


Connect with Innovate UK Business Connect

Join Innovate UK Business Connect's mailing list to receive updates on funding opportunities, events and to access Innovate UK Business Connect's deep expertise. Please check your email to confirm your subscription and select your area(s) of interest.